If you look around, you will notice that an increasing number of people are driving golf carts in South Carolina. You may even notice your neighbors taking their golf car to go to a different neighborhood. Some people are unaware that there are state and local laws in place regarding golf carts in South Carolina. If you are planning to purchase a golf car or design your own, rent a golf car for your vacation, or you already own one, read on. Below are some important things that you need to know about golf cart laws in South Carolina. Familiarizing yourself with them will help you avoid civil or criminal liability for operating one unlawfully.
Licensed drivers who are at least 16 years old are allowed to drive a golf cart in the state of South Carolina. Unlicensed drivers and kids, even if an adult is with them, are prohibited from driving this kind of vehicle on a public road and in your neighborhood. You might be held criminally liable for putting your child in danger if your kids have an accident. You may also be civilly liable for any kind of accident that your child may cause.
You don’t have to register golf carts in Myrtle Beach if you only plan to use it on your property. However, if you want to drive it on a public road, you need to secure a permit from the South Carolina Department of motor vehicles. The registration only costs $5. You must show proof that you own the vehicle and that you have liability insurance. You are required to register the vehicle again and get a new permit every five years, or sooner if you change your address.
If you are renting a golf car, the permit should be supplied by the owner of the vehicle that you’re renting from.
The “When and Where”
You are only allowed to drive a golf cart in South Carolina during Daylight hours. During this time, you can drive your golf cart only on streets or secondary highways that have a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less. You are allowed to cross a roadway with a speed limit greater than 35 mph at an intersection, however.
There are certain restrictions as to where you can drive your golf cart in South Carolina: within 4 miles of the address registered on the permit, or within 4 miles of a point of exit/entrance to a gated neighborhood or island that is not accessible by a bridge made specifically for automobiles.
There may be additional restrictions in place in certain communities, so be sure to familiarize yourself with the local laws before taking your golf car out for a ride.
Things To Bring
When driving your golf car, there are three important things you need bring: the registration certificate given by the DMV, your driver’s license, and proof of liability insurance.
Equipment, Special Laws, and Drinking Alcohol
In the state of South Carolina, all golf carts are street legal regardless of what accessories the car is outfitted with.
It’s still a good idea to have blinkers, tail lights, headlights, and other equipment typically found on a motor vehicle. In terms of special laws, you are required to follow the same rules imposed when driving your golf cart. You should not assume that you’ve got the right of way just because you are driving a vehicle with low speed. You need to be careful because the injuries you can sustain may be substantial if you become tangled up in a motor accident. Lastly, just like when driving a typical vehicle, you are not allowed to drink alcohol on your golf cart or operate one if you are impaired. You can still be charged with DUI if you do so.
Call us now if you are interested in purchasing, renting or building your own golf car.
Best Golf Cars – Myrtle Beach
1400 Enterprise Ave. Myrtle Beach, SC, 29578
Phone (843) 353-4130
Fax (843) 448-7772
Best Golf Cars
4824 Hwy 17 Bypass South
Myrtle Beach, SC 29588
Best Golf Cars – North Myrtle Beach
950 N Hwy 17
North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582